Ellie Louise

Joy comes in the morning

on December 24, 2012

Psalm 30:1-5

I will extol you, O Lord, for you have drawn me up and have not let my foes rejoice over me.

O Lord my God, I cried to you for help,  and you have healed me.

O Lord, you have brought up my soul from Sheol;  you restored me to life from among those who go down to the pit.

 Sing praises to the Lord, O you his saints, and give thanks to his holy name. 

 For his anger is but for a moment, and his favor is for a lifetime.

Weeping may tarry for the night, but joy comes with the morning.

I had been watching the sweet baby sleep since one o’clock, occasionally dozing myself and then starting awake to see her little face. Her chest was moving up and down, up and down.

While I was watching, I saw her movements change, slow and stop.

“This is it,” I thought. The moment had come.

I woke Chris and said, “Here, come hold Ellie.”

He took her and sat in our rocking chair and we held her, crying and watching her last few feeble breaths. Watching her go completely still.

Her pulse was faint… almost nonexistent.

We quietly cried thinking our private thoughts…

Minute after minute seemed to pass.

Then….

Cough. Sputter. Cough.

Big eyes.

Old Ellie. Staring, looking and squeaking at us.

Um… could you folks feed me please?

12-24-12 - 2 Feed Me

Thank you Lord Jesus.

I don’t know what today will hold. But I am thankful for a 4 am reprieve. Another outfit change.

Another chance to feel her breathe in and out.

A wonderful way to start Christmas Eve Day.

Love to you all… will keep you posted.

Charlotte

4 responses to “Joy comes in the morning

  1. Zoe Howard says:

    Charlotte, I was awake early early and read this update – oh what a gift! I know you are soaking up each moment with your sweet girl. Love to you all! Thank you for keeping us all updated.

  2. Paige says:

    This breaks my heart. I’m thankful for each day you have with her. Take more pictures of all of you with her (including you char), you’ll be so glad you did!

  3. Gina Legge says:

    keeping you guys in m,y prayer, reading your post brings my heart closer to you and your family. God is good and each day spent with her is a Joy, Charlotte you are an encouragement to me and to so many others, your strength, faith, and family unity is amazing. Thank you for sharing and allowing me to be part of your prayer chain. :) ~ gina legge

  4. Ah! Oh my goodness! Praise God! May He continue to pour out His healing and love all over her. Still praying for you all!

Leave a Reply

