Ellie Louise

Surgery will be Thursday November 1st – Please Pray!

on October 30, 2012
We now have a surgery date of Thursday November 1st. We are not sure of the time yet… we will find out tomorrow. 

Ellie is getting a gastronomy tube (g-tube) to replace her nasogastric (ng tube) – explanation below: 

Some kids have medical problems that prevent them from being able to take adequate nutrition by mouth. A gastrostomy tube (also called a G-tube) is a tube inserted through the abdomen that delivers nutrition directly to the stomach. It’s one of the ways doctors can make sure kids with trouble eating get the fluid and calories they need to grow. Fortunately, a gastrostomy is a common procedure that takes only about 30 to 45 minutes. After spending 1 or 2 days in the hospital, kids who have had a gastrostomy can get back to their normal activities fairly quickly after the incision has healed. (http://kidshealth.org/parent/system/surgery/g_tube.html)

Her other surgery is for her kidney. She was born with only one kidney and her kidney has two ureters. So during the surgery they will be making a repair to keep her from being prone to infection. (http://www.healthofchildren.com/C/Congenital-Ureter-Anomalies.html)

We are excited that she will be able to have both while only going under anesthesia once. I have to admit that I am very excited – but I am also scared. It will be hard to take her back to the hospital to be put under anesthesia again. It will be hard to know that she will be on a vent again.

I am reminding myself of Paul wrote ~ “Finally, be strong in the Lord and in the strength of His might.” Ephesians 6:10

My strength does not come from some inner place, inner reserve that I have in myself. I am completely unable to have enough faith, courage or hope if I look inside of me. However, my Lord is able to do abundantly and exceedingly. He is faithful, He is in control, and He is Ellie’s own Creator. He doesn’t need the doctors to heal her. He doesn’t need me for that matter. But I am His child. Ellie is His precious creation. And I can trust Him. I can be strong in His might.

I thank Him for reminding me of where my trust comes from.  I have been praying the following Psalm for Ellie ~ it reminds me who is in control.

Psalm 121

I lift up my eyes to the hills – where does my help come from?

My help comes from the Lord, the Maker of heaven and earth.

He will not let your foot slip – he who watches over you will not slumber;

Indeed, he who watches over Israel will neither slumber nor sleep.

The Lord watches over you – the Lord is your shade at your right hand;

The sun will not harm you by day, nor the moon by night.

The Lord will keep you from all harm – he will watch over your life;

The Lord will watch over your coming and going both now and forevermore.

 

Prayer Requests

 

  • Please pray that the doctors would be very skillful.
  • That each surgery would be successful.
  • That Ellie would immediately be able to breathe on her own when she comes off the vent.
  • That her body would heal quickly from the surgeries.
  • That none of us would get sick from being at the hospital.
  • That we would be able to manage the g-tube well.
  • That the other children will do well at the homes where they are staying.
  • For wisdom for Chris and I as we deal with the preparations for the surgery and the questions the staff will ask us about our wishes for Ellie should she not be able to breathe on her own.
  • For us to place our trust in the Lord above all else.
  • That she will not have an ongoing problem with reflux.
  • That she would be able to swallow on her own and learn to eat on her own.
  • That she would grow strong.
  • That she would continue to gain weight.
  • For Chris and I to be a good testimony of Christ’s grace in our lives to the hospital staff.
  • That we would love those around us and be kind to those who don’t understand why we have chosen this treatment for Ellie.

As always we are very thankful for all of you and your kind prayer. Thank you for loving us and loving Ellie.

Chris and Charlotte

5 responses to “Surgery will be Thursday November 1st – Please Pray!

  1. Jonelle says:

    What a beauty! I will be praying! ((love and hugs)) Jonelle

  2. We will have a special prayer time for all of you during Wednesday night service, Oct. 31, at Zion Baptist in Walterboro.

  3. charlynn says:

    We are praying for you and Ellie today. So thankful to hear they can do both procedures at once. I love Ellie’s spunk and determination. I cant wait to hear the praise reports from the surgery. Let me know if you need anything. love ya

  4. jennifer campbell says:

    we are praying for a successful surgery andquick recovery. we love you guys so much and can not wait to see lilttle ellie.love, kenny, jennifer. caroline, christian, and matthew

Leave a Reply

