Ellie Louise

9-27-12

on September 27, 2012

Good Morning Everyone –

Thank you so much for praying for little Ellie!

Today His Utmost for His Highest quoted Luke 9:57 “As they were walking along the road, a man said to him, ‘I will follow you wherever you go.”

Is this really true of me?

Jesus replied to the man that “Foxes have holes and birds of the air have nests, but the Son of Man has no place to lay his head.”

I want to go wherever Jesus leads me.. but do I really want to walk down the hard lonely path of suffering and pain of a wee little one? The fear of losing a child? The reality of our other children hurting while we grieve? Not really.

But this moment I can trust Him. This step I can walk after Him. I can beg Him to help me to live the next moment.

And be thankful for that moment. Thankful for what He is doing in my life, and the lives of those around us.

Ellie had a great day yesterday. Her color was good, she rested very comfortably, and generally looked like the model patient!

We covet your prayer today over her being weaned from the ventilator. Breathing is a critical issue for children with Trisomy 18 and it will be the key to whether we can take Ellie home.

For more info about Trisomy 18 see this website: http://www.trisomy.org/

Also she was trembling a lot last night… although she was plenty warm.. so please pray that it is a non-issue and that it is not an indicator of anything.

We have decided to try to put her in a different hat every day to show that each day is new! You will also notice that we have accessorized her blankets!

Love to everyone at home and thanks for all of your calls, texts, messages and notes. If you would like to help with anything, please email Michele Norman at michelenorm@gmail.com. She will be fielding and coordinating all those requests for us.

This weekend will be very busy for us and we may not be able to have any visitors because we expect to have our children come to see us. Next week I think I can handle one visitor a day.

It is a pretty complicated process to get people into the NICU. We can only bring people in one at a time. I will be keeping an appointment book… so that I do not overbook myself. Part of the issue is that I am also pumping my milk for Ellie 6 times a day and that take 30-45 minutes each time. I will say that all of the visitors we have had have been a huge encouragement to us. The Lord has blessed us and strengthened our faith by each of you that have come to see little Ellie. When you see her in person it is so much more evident what a little miracle she is.

We love all of you very much and are so thankful for your love and support. I love seeing all of your comments, texts and messages… so know that I am treasuring them in my heart even if I don’t have a chance to individually respond to them.

Love to you all!

Chris and Charlotte

13 responses to “9-27-12

  1. Lisa says:

    WOW! You are a powerful strength in your faith! I would love to come and visit Baby Ellie and hold her and cuddle her, but alas, NY is too far. Please know that I am visiting you in my thoughts daily!

  2. Elle Morris says:

    Hi mrs. charlotte My name is Elle, I’m Rhonda Morris daughter. I just wanted to say that I am sorry that this has happend I do know the feeling of having to be strong in such a awful situation, my daughter Prudence Ann had to have open heart surgery back in may and just had another surgery for her belly button. She is doing good though but I can only hope that your daughter will pull through just as well, I tried to tell myself how could God let something like that happen if he loved all of his childern so much…but he’s the only reason she mad it out alive, when they opened her up they found scar tissuse on the right side, her left ventrical was enlarged, she has a extra vein and they also found a second whole. After he was finished and came to talk with us, he told us these things and said it was surprising that she was alive. That really made me think, I believe God has a purpose for my daughter by letting her live, and reading what all your daughter has been through I believe she has a purpose as well I have no doubt in my mind that she won’t be ok. I will pray for her and your family, I hope all is well.

  3. Blair Pendley says:

    What a precious little one. I admire your strong faith and your steadfast courage. I am praying for your family and little Ellie.

  4. Susan Haas says:

    Dear Charlotte, Chris and family,
    We are praying for all of you and especially little Ellie. What a precious child she is and how blessed by God to have you for a family. I’m praying Isaiah 40:31 over you right now. “Yet those who wait for the LORD Will gain new strength; They will mount up with wings like eagles, They will run and not get tired, They will walk and not become weary.”
    May our precious Lord surround you with His peace that passes understanding and keep you strong in your faith. Love, Steve and Susan Haas

  5. Len Johnson says:

    “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” Jer. 29:11

    I know this is not news to you so I just offer it as a reminder of the hope that we have in Him. Ellie has a place in God’s perfect plan.

    We love you guys!

  6. Lynn Crouse says:

    I so admire your strength! We have and will continue to pray Elli! Thank you for posting.

  7. O G. Chase says:

    Suzan and I are in deep daily prayer for Ellie, You, Chris and the family. We pray for your comfort, and especially healing for Ellie. We know that the Lord has His hand on Ellie, and He alone knows the answer. We pray for the doctors and much wisdom. We stand by ready to help.
    Gerry and Suzan

  8. Susan says:

    Thanks for the updates. Praying for you. Charlotte, you are such a blessing and encouragement to all of us.

Leave a Reply

