Ellie Louise

Two Month Anniversary

on February 26, 2013

Ellie Love ShirtToday it has been two months since sweet Ellie flew into the arms of Jesus.

It is steadily raining outside, and indeed the rain flows down my face in the form of tears as I write this.

I am so thankful for all of you who walked with us through my pregnancy, Ellie’s birth and then her passing.

I have been able to get out many thank you notes… but not all…. yet. I am still working on some because everyone has been so kind, so generous, so faithful to our family. Extended family, friends, our community, Chris’ co-workers, our church family, our Citadel family, the MUSC staff, Beaufort Peds, Ellie’s doctors, nurses, the Hands of Hope staff and the many, many whom I have never met that have heard Ellie’s story from friends and online.

Every note, meal, email, message, text…. every kindness… has meant so much to us. Ellie has brought together so many – from so many backgrounds – and shown us how much we all need each other.

Grave MarkerEllie’s grave marker has been put up and it is so lovely. We go to see it whenever we are downtown. Since this picture was taken, they have sodded the area. To the right of Ellie’s grave is where Chris and I will be laid to rest one day.

I remember her today and everyday. A special blessing from the Lord. A child who had and still has a purpose. A child who was loved first by her Creator and second by us. A child that we could not keep here on this earth… but who we were privileged to have and to hold for three months. A child that was not supposed to be born by this world’s standard. A child who has a special place in all of our hearts.

I was hopeful that I would be able to share the service here, but it was too long. When Zachariah is home on spring break, I will ask him to edit it so that we can share it with all of you.

Thank you to all of you that came to the service, attended her viewing, came to the graveside or  the reception. Your presence was felt by us even though we couldn’t speak to each of you individually.

I also wanted to thank so many of you who thought of us, prayed for us or sent us notes and sweet gifts because you were not able to attend. Your kindness was a blessing to our family.

If you live anywhere near Beaufort – I want to invite you to come to a very special event on Tuesday March 5th at 7 pm at Community Bible Church. October Baby will be showing.  This movie is sponsored by the Beaufort Women’s Center and the admission is free. Here is a link to the event on Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/events/424923800928854/. I would also ask that you would consider supporting the Women’s Center in their mission to help mothers choose life for their unborn babies - bwc@hargray.com.

Every day we put our trust in the Lord and His provision for our family. He is our hope and our reason for doing what we do. I am so thankful for His great faithfulness to us. I look forward to what the future brings

“Who is like you, Lord God Almighty?
You, Lord, are mighty, and your faithfulness surrounds you.”   – Psalm 89:8

10 responses to “Two Month Anniversary

  1. Susan Haas says:

    I still think about Ellie quite often and say a prayer for you. We, too, have a little baby (John Anthony Haas) in heaven. We are so thankful that we know he is with Jesus. I remember the deep pain of loss in my heart when we lost him. God built mother’s that way. Please know I lift you up in prayer often and am always here to talk if you need to. (One of my greatest needs was to express my feelings to caring friends). Praise God every day for Christian friends!

  2. Zoe Howard says:

    Charlotte – I think of you and Ellie almost every day. Just this morning as I was trying to coax a smile out of my little guy, I thought of Ellie and wondered if you were ever able to see her smile. And then you posted this picture! What a beautiful girl. I can’t wait to see that smile in Heaven one day.
    I hope that her service will be able to be posted sometime. And the song 10,000 Reasons will forever be “Ellie’s song” in my mind now. Love it – and love you!

  3. Rebekah says:

    My heart and prayers are with you. Her marker is perfect. I love that you put “chosen princess” on it.

  4. Heather Breeland says:

    Charlotte, you and your family are never far from my thoughts and prayers. I’ve shared and continue to share Ellie’s story with so many people. I can’t wait to see you again and share with you all she accomplished and the people she touched here in Myrtle Beach. I’ll see you in June, my friend.

  5. Cassandra says:

    Charlotte, I love you. You are such an amazing godly woman and I always appreciate your transparency, and willingness to share, thank you.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 758 other followers

